On 2012

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I very vividly remember the most depressing thing someone told me as an adolescent. I was 13, and a woman at the church my family and I attended at the time told me, “You know, these are the best years of your life.” Let me assure you; 13 was not a great year for me. I was in 8th grade and in the midst of the requisite middle school drama which was compounded, by the 3rd year of a physically awkward phase that lasted to my own estimation, until sometime after college. But that’s not the point. The point is that the idea of a 70 year old woman telling a 13 year old, “yeah kid, enjoy this because it’s as good as it gets, so you know, enjoy it.” is depressing as hell.

Fortunately, it’s also not accurate. I can honestly say that as I get older and settle into myself and become more comfortable with who I am, each year has been better than the one before. And 2012 was no exception.

2012 has been a helluva ride. And I stand grateful for everything it’s brought. The lessons learned, the people who have come and those who have gone, the laughter and the tears. Because all of it has been essential to my growth  For every friend gone, new ones have come. For every life lost there have been new ones begun and for every setback there have been multiple triumphs. So to 2012 and all of those who were a part of mine, I say thank you for preparing me for what 2013 has in store.

To 2013, you’ve got a lot to live up to, but I’m absolutely ready for whatever you bring my way.

Leave a Reply

