The Weekly(?) Playlist

Yeah, It’s been awhile. But the playlist is back. At least for now. Enjoy.

1. Kermit Ruffins – When I Die – You Better Second Line

For Blair. When I told a friend that they were doing a 2nd Line for his memorial, she said, “What a great way to celebrate an amazing person” Yes indeed. Detroit, you betta second line all down Cass Avenue!

2. Terry Callier – Ordinary Joe

My Dad came to visit last week me and among other things, I re-formatted his portable hard drive so of course we had to do swap music and this is one of the songs I stole. It’s nice to remind yourself every once in awhile that, “Each little bird in the sky, is just a little bit freer than I”

3. Louis Armstrong – Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams

This song was the soundtrack to the season finale Treme wrap-up montage. And I’m not even going to try and embarrass myself trying to describe it, it’s just perfection.

4. Max Roach & Abbey Lincoln – Lonesome Lover

I got this song off of my dad during his visit, but it was one of the songs that I lost in the great hard drive failure of 2010. Anyway, this song stops my in my tracks every time I hear it. Abbey Lincoln’s vocals, the lyrics and the music. How do you beat Max Roach on drums? Stop thinking about it, you can’t.

5. Bon Iver – Who Is It (Björk Cover)

Today’s Song of the Day so of course it’s on the playlist.

6. Talking Heads – Sugar On My Tongue – 2005 Remastered Album Version

This song has been in my head since it was playing in the grocery store a couple weeks ago. I had forgotten how much I love it and now it’s in heavy rotation.

7. Björk – Who Is It (Carry My Joy On The Left, Carry My Pain On The Right)”

Had to go to the original.

8. Beyoncé featuring André 3000 – Party

This song is not winning any awards for songwriting for sure and I’m not sure if I ever want to be dripping “Swagu” but damn if this song doesn’t make you want to hop in a way-back machine and go to a basement party in the 80’s/early 90’s. And Andre 3000.

9. Britney Spears – Till The World Ends

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, “That Britney Bangs!!” It doesn’t require tons of explanation, it’s catchy and it’ll make you dance.

10. Major Lazer – Hold The Line feat. Mr. Lex & Santigold

If you ever see a collaboration with Santigold and Diplo and/or Switch, I will like it/love it/play it until it’s worn out. This is no exception, if you can’t dance to this, reevaluate your life.

11. Say Wut – RunTHeWorldRMx

I think that the more I listen to this, the more I realize that I prefer it to the original. It just hits so much harder and while “Pon De Floor” will generate some ass-shaking; Baltimore House is in a category all its own.

Leave a Reply

