Return from the Abyss

Yeah, I know. I’ve been gone for about 10, 11 days. What have I been up to?

Well, I went back home, watched the precipice of a building get torn off, drank whisky at a speakeasy, went to my Grandmother’s birthday party and a dear friend’s wedding. I watched a man high off his ass shout “Holy Mackerel” while considering the purchase of a 1987 Ford Mustang (unfortunately it was an automatic). I went to one of my favorite restaurants. I went swimming at my cousin/brother’s house (he’s my cousin but like a brother) where his daughter shot me in the face with a water gun and his son chucked me the deuces and pulled down his pants (not at the same time). I sat in my parents’ kitchen and laughed at my mom’s stories and my father’s jokes and remembered again why they fucking rock. I said goodbye to my uncle and his family before they moved to Arizona. I saw some of my favorite people. I laughed a lot, cried a lot and loved even more. I was run out of downtown Detroit by Taylor Swift and Tigers’ fans so I drove to Chicago and fuck I miss home already. Right now, I’m in my apartment reading my syllabus and wondering when graduate student became synonymous with masochist. But I’m back and ready for what’s next.

 

Leave a Reply

