This Week’s Playlist

It’s Thursday, so it must be time for the playlist. As a reminder, the playlist isn’t about the newest, hottest songs on the street. It is a carefully curated list of songs that reflects what I’m in the mood to hear. So without further ado:
1. Ghostface Killah: Shakey Dog 

I have to be honest and say that I had forgotten about this song until I had my music on shuffle and this came on, grabbed me by the neck and didn’t let me go until I had played it 3 or 4 times on repeat.

2. The Dells: I Can Sing a Rainbow / Love is Blue

If I were to make a “Dark Liquor and Break-Ups” playlist, this song would be #1. To start with a children’s song and end up with something that so perfectly captures the heartbreak, loss and regret of a devastating break-up is simply genius. It also makes for a great hip-hop sample. (See Shakey Dog and Mos Def’s Beef freestyle)

3. The Black Keys: Next Girl

Speaking of breakups and music, and guitar and yeah. I have no words to eloquently describe this song.

4. Dice Raw: 100 ft. Get Right

I realized Sunday night, that I can’t drink Malbec without thinking about Dice and this song. Anyway, I’ve having a hip-hop thing for MC’s going in over heavy drums. Also, love a rapper referencing Malbec and communism and Stalin.

5. The Dirty Dozen Brass Band: Everything I Do Gon’ Be Funky

One of my favorite shows, Treme, premiered it’s second season last week. Sunday’s episode took it’s title from this song, and like a LOT of the music from the show, this song makes me want to buy a plane ticket. ASAP

6. Curtis Mayfield: You’re So Good to Me

This addition to the playlist was inspired by a text message, but it’s Curtis! The best way I can describe this song is lush. I actually took a break from writing this to do a 2-step in my living room. So now I’m 2-stepping with a glass of Malbec thanks to Dice Raw & Curtis Mayfield. That sounds like a success.

7. Solange Knowles: T.O.N.Y.

I’ll say it here, Sol-Angel and the Hadley Street Dreams was tragically slept on. Solange is immensely talented in her own right and the album and this track are fun with a throwback vibe that feels completely modern.

8. Killer Mike: Ready, Set, Go

I just love Killer Mike’s swagger. There are few MC’s who can ride a beat as well as Big Boi, but Killer Mike comes hella close on this and T.I. almost sounds menacing. All I can say is that this song makes me so happy that it alleviated my annoyance at being stuck in Obama related traffic a few weeks ago.

9. Ghostface Killah: Baby ft. Raheem DeVaughn

The first time I heard this it was live on Jimmy Fallon with The Roots backing. I still prefer that version but every time I hear this, my uterus starts talking. Just playing, but if I ever have a baby, I will play this at the baby shower. Much to my mother’s chagrin.

10. Marvin Gaye: Funky Space Reincarnation

I started this with a musical history lesson but just go here. This song just is ridiculously funky and only Marvin Gaye can be this seductive singing about getting done on the moon.

11. The Dixie Cups – Iko Iko

No, not the Australian cover from Rainman. I love the stripped down aesthetic. Also, Treme. Watch it already.

12. De La Soul: Buddy Rmx

If you ever want to get a party started, throw this on. If no one gets up to dance, get new friends. Seriously, your friends suck.

13. The Platinum Pied Pipers: 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover ft. Rogier

I just like this. Probably because as a child watching Vh1, I liked the Paul Simon original. I had extremely corny taste as a child, I was also a huge Phil Collins fan.

14. Dirty Projectors: Two Doves

This song is perfectly gorgeous. Absolutely beautiful and evocative. This is one of my Lay’s Potato Chip songs, I can’t listen to it just once.

15. Erykah Badu: Soldier, The Cell

Really, New Amerykah Pt. 1. But these songs knocked me out when I ripped put it in the car. I think I wasted gas to ride around listening to it. Love.

16. Erykah Badu: Telephone

I know I talked about the album in the last entry, but this song literally moved me to tears. I mean sitting in the car, sobbing. It’s just completely moving with or without knowing the backstory. This just broke me.

17. Big Boi: Royal Flush ft. Raekwon & Andre 3000

Good things happen when Outkast and Raekwon collaborate (see Skew it on the Bar-B). I know I mentioned this last week, but it really deserves it’s own mention for the way Big Boi opens the song with the sole intention of wrecking shit and rides the beat like no one else could. I think that part of the reason Big Boi gets slept on is that his delivery is so smooth that you miss the lyrics because you’re so impressed by the way he delivers them. Peep here the way he delivers, “Impeach the President cuz he don’t think before he talk/ Iraq got that now he gunnin’ for Iran/ North Korea got that shit that make LA look like Japan”. And this brings me to another thing I appreciate about Big Boi is that his lyrics assume knowledge on the part of the listener, his verse is evidence of that. And of course, Andre hasn’t been heard on too often lately, but whenever he hops on a mic, he more than makes up for lost time. “3000 out”

18. Santigold: Go ft. Karen O

Previously discussed here

19. Fiona Apple: Criminal

It was that damn Zach Galifianakis that reminded me of how much I like this song. I love her voice and this song is so damn sexy and heartbreaking.

20. Elzhi: Detroit State of Mind

Elzhi is dropping, Elmatic, a Nas tribute mixtape on May 10th, which you’ve got to admit, takes some serious balls. Unless of course, he’s remaking “You Owe Me” because there’s nowhere for that to go but up. However, this track says that he’s going the Nasty Nas route and he does well here. I haven’t listened to it yet but head over to Hip Hop Site for the second track, “Halftime”

21. Nirvana: Smells Like Teen Spirit

Have you ever been some where and caught a whiff of something that smelled horrendous (like exits 11-13 on the NJ Turnpike) and had to compulsively smell your car’s air freshener or your perfume/cologne to remind you that there are still good things in the world. Well, I found out that for some God forsaken reason, Miley Cyrus decided to cover this song in concert and had to add this to the playlist.

Leave a Reply

