Don’t be Michael Scott

Too many people fail to realize how much being respected and well-liked will play into one’s career. As someone once told me, “It doesn’t much matter if you like people, what matters is if people like you.”

What exactly does this mean? I’m not sure, but what I know is that the most successful people I know are straight shooters. They know who they are and what they stand for and the people around them not only know this, but respect them for that. I know that there are people who I don’t agree with all of the time, but I appreciate that I know where they stand on an issue. To be clear, I’m not talking about the reality show, “keeping it real” mentality. As the article states, it’s a matter of picking your battles while maintaining your integrity.

[How to Command Respect at Work]

Leave a Reply

